If you’re looking for where to get your medical cannabis card in Arkansas, you should know that there isn’t such a thing. But there has been some movement in that direction.
Arkansas now offers patients to get their renewal of their medical cannabis card via telehealth visit, however, if you are receiving your medical cannabis card for the first time, it is required to do an in-person visit.
The Natural State legalized medical cannabis in 2016 with the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act, which amended the state’s constitution. Since adult-use is otherwise illegal in Arkansas, this provided a pathway for patients to qualify for medical cannabis cards.
In this guide, My Virtual Physician walks you through step-by-step how to get your medical cannabis card as an Arkansas resident.
In order to qualify, you must have one of the qualifying medical conditions provided in the law. Check the list of debilitating medical conditions below to see if you qualify to get a medical card for cannabis in Arkansas:
If you’re an Arkansas resident looking for medical marijuana to deal with any of the above conditions, you can proceed with the next step to get your medical cannabis card.
Once you’ve confirmed that your medical condition qualifies, you can begin the three-step process to get your card. This process requires only three items:
Before filling out your Medical Marijuana ID card application with the Arkansas Department of Health, the first step is to see your doctor.
Your doctor must be an Arkansas-licensed physician registered with the DEA. My Virtual Physician is staffed with virtual doctors who are licensed in states throughout the US and can serve patients online or through telemedicine where legally applicable.
The purpose of this visit is for the doctor to certify your medical condition and verify that it is on the list of qualifying conditions.
After your visit, your doctor will complete a state-specific form that certifies his or her recommendation for medical marijuana as an applicable treatment for your medical condition. This form is called the ADH Medical Marijuana Physician’s Written Certification.
Within 30 days of getting your physician certification, you’ll need to apply for your Arkansas Medical Marijuana ID card with the Arkansas Department of Health. You can apply online or by mail. You’ll upload a photo of your physician certification during the application process, along with proof of residency.
State processing takes up to 14 days, and you’ll be able to print your card once approved while you wait for the physical card to be mailed.
During the application process, you’ll be prompted to pay a $50 registry ID card application fee to ADH. Your card will be good for up to one year. There is a separate charge for the physician consultation visit that is required to get your physician certification form. My Virtual Physician currently charges $115 for this consultation service.
That puts your total cost for a medical cannabis card at $165 per year if you choose My Virtual Physician to complete your physician certification (fees are paid separately to the state and your healthcare provider).
Now that you know how to get your medical cannabis card in Arkansas, if you're ready to renew your certification, set up your medical marijuana consultation with My Virtual Physician to renew your medical cannabis card.